Skip to Content

How Many Checkpoints Are in the Duolingo Spanish Course?

Wondering how many checkpoints are in the Duolingo Spanish tree? There are currently 10 Checkpoints in the Duolingo Spanish Course.

UPDATE: Checkpoints are now called “Unit Reviews.”

What is a Checkpoint?

In Duolingo, they split up the “trees” or courses with Checkpoints so that you don’t learn more difficult concepts before you’re ready.

Checkpoint 10 in the Duolingo Spanish Course

In order to pass the Checkpoint or unlock it, you need to complete all of the lessons that come before that checkpoint. That means you need to have earned at least 1 crown in each topic.

Once you’ve finished all the lessons and earned at least one crown for each, then you can pass the last checkpoint in Duolingo Spanish and finally earn your Duolingo Owl!

Once you’ve passed a checkpoint, it’s no longer a checkpoint and it turns into a “Unit.”

Want to take your language learning to the next level? If you’re ready to go beyond Duolingo, italki is the absolute best language resource out there. Take one-on-one classes with native speakers online for less than $10.

Unit 2 in Duolingo Spanish

Can You Test Out of the Checkpoints in Duolingo Spanish?

Yes, you can test out of these Checkpoints if you feel like you’re ready! Just click on the checkpoint and it will give you the option to start the test.

Complete a checkpoint test in Duolingo

Although it’s tempting to want to jump ahead and just take the tests that allow you to pass that Checkpoint faster, I would only recommend doing this if you are already quite fluent in the language.

RELATED:  Super Duolingo {Duolingo Plus} Cost in 2024: Is it Worth the Money?

If not, you probably need that practice, and skipping those easier lessons won’t do you any good.

Want to learn a language quickly and never forget it? Check out this book on Amazon about how to stay fluent in a language over time without losing fluency!

Test Out of Unit 10 Checkpoint in Duolingo Spanish

How Many Mistakes Can I Make at a Checkpoint in Duolingo Spanish?

Although this is subject to change, right now you can only make 4 mistakes before you fail the checkpoint test in Duolingo Spanish. So make sure you’re ready before you get started!

4 Mistakes allowed in Checkpoint Test in Duolingo Spanish

Read More About Duolingo: